Cybersecurity certifications


The CISSP qualification

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification has become a prerequisite for anyone developing a senior career in information security. It provides information security professionals with an objective measure of competence and a globally recognized standard of achievement. The CISSP credential suits mid- and senior-level managers who are working towards, or have already attained, positions such as CISO, CSO or senior security engineer.

Path to passing the CISSP examination at one attempt: Here is a collection of resources that have helped previous CISSP test takers pass the test at one attempt

How to qualify for the CISSP certification

To qualify for the CISSP certification, you must:

  • Have a minimum of five years’ experience in two or more of the eight CBK domains.
  • Pass the CISSP examination.
  • Complete the endorsement process and subscribe to the (ISC)² Code of Ethics.
  • Maintain certification through continuing professional education (CPE) credits.


CISSP was developed and is maintained by (ISC)², the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium. At the heart of CISSP is an information security common body of knowledge (CBK), which is divided into eight domains:

  1. Security and Risk Management
  2. Asset Security
  3. Security Engineering
  4. Communications and Network Security
  5. Identity and Access Management
  6. Security Assessment and Testing
  7. Security Operations
  8. Software Development Security

The Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK is the essential guide for those preparing for the CISSP exam.

Who Earns The CISSP?

According to the official ISC2 website, CISSP is ideal for experienced security practitioners, managers, and executives interested in proving their knowledge across a wide array of security practices and principles, including those in the following positions:

  • Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)
  • Chief Information Officer (CIO)
  • Director of Security
  • IT Director/Manager
  • Security Systems Engineer
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Manager
  • Security Auditor
  • Security Architect
  • Security Consultant
  • Network Architect

Cybersecurity certifications can be a great way of fast-tracking your career. The right course can get you that promotion you want. However, they require an investment of both time and money, and you don’t want to waste either of these on the wrong course. This is why it’s worth taking some time to choose carefully.

Are you looking for a definitive list of the best Cyber Security Certifications in 2020?  Ranging from the most basic certifications (ITIL foundation, CompTIA A+) up until the most recognized within the cybersecurity industry (CISSP)? Below is a list of over 200 accredited certifications, detailing their tracks and distinct categories for year 2020


The median annual pay for information technology professionals was about $84,000 as of 2017, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. This is more than double the median annual pay for all professions combined. Computers play a part in multiple functions for nearly all professions, and somebody has to take care of them all, making the IT profession a growing one. BLS projects the industry to add more than half a million jobs during the decade ending in 2026.

Most of the highest paying IT jobs require some form of certification, though, so it’s important to know what type of training will be necessary depending on the specific IT career you are pursuing.

1 CRISC: Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control

According to the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA), this certification ensures that the holder is well-versed in risks to information systems, then designing/implementing solutions. This certification, according to the IT Skills and Salary Report, has an average salary of $119,227 per year and is a good certification for those interested in Information Systems Security positions.

2. CISM: Certified Information Security Manager

Another ISACA certification, the CISM certification recognizes proficiency in information security management, as someone who manages, designs, and assesses information security for a given organization. This certification has some prerequisites, such as existing certifications like GIAC. According to the Skills and Salary Report, holders of this certification earn an average of $118,348 per year.

3. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Like CRISC and CISM above, this certification recognizes proficiency in security and risk management, as well as software development security. The average annual reported salary for holders of this certification is $110,603.

4. PMP: Project Management Professional

With an average annual salary of $109,405, the PMP certification from the Project Management Institute (PMI) ensures that, according to the PMI, “you speak and understand the global language of project management.”

5. CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor

Another IASCA certification, the CISA ensures that Information Systems auditors have the skills necessary to evaluate systems and follow best practices to “support trust in and value from information systems.” The average salary of CISA holders is $106,181.

6. CCDA: Cisco Certified Design Associate

The CCDA is Cisco’s certification for network design. Make sure you’re certified with another Cisco certification (such as CCNP Routing and Switching or any CCIE certification), as it’s a requirement for the CCDA. The average income of a CCDA holder is $99,701. This certification, along with the CCNP, is good to have if you’re interested in becoming a network engineer

7. CCNP Routing and Switching

At $97,038 per year average annual salary, the CCNP Routing and Switching certification is good for someone with at least one year of networking experience and ensures that the holder can implement and maintain wide-area networks and work with specialists on solutions.

8. MCSE: Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer

Microsoft has changed the nature of the Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert to be more of a wide-ranging certification focusing on implementing technology over a wide variety of versions instead of one focused on specific disciplines. However, an MCSE is still a highly respected certification to obtain, and the average salary for MCSE holders is $96,215 per year.

9. ITIL v4 Foundation

The updated ITIL v4 certification—the ITIL Master—recognizes those who can apply ITIL concepts of quality IT solutions in real-world situations. The average annual salary for ITIL Master certification holders is $95,434.

10. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

CEH is a vendor-neutral (not tied to any brand) certification for information technology workers who wish to specialize in “legally” hacking malicious hackers, using the same knowledge and tools that malicious hackers use. Two years of security-related experience is preferred before receiving a CEH. The average annual salary for CEH holder is $95,155.

11. CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ which has come to stay for  very long time stands at an average salary that  varies according to the designation, experience and background. According to PayScale, the average salary range of a network engineer with this cert varies from$42,128 – $95,829.